To cry or not to cry?

tumblr_mydouiYnl31sfevmio2_500One of the latest films to hit the waterworks in the cinema-going public is The Fault in Our Stars, starring Shailene Woodley and Ensel Elgort.  Reading the synopsis, it does sound blubbersome (so I might avoid it at the risk of sobbing in public, which I hate), but it got me wondering, what were the last films that made me cry?

An article from an entertainment website also got me thinking, as the site’s roster of writers run down the films that have made them reach for the tissues and why.  However, I’ve seen most of them and none of them got me all teary.  Toy Story 3? Nope. Good Will Hunting? Nothing. Titanic? Nada (and I was 15 when that came out!). Planes, Trains and Automobiles? You’re kidding, right?

I thought it was mainly due to me having a heart of stone but now I realise that it depends on the film.  Looking back, certain films made me cry as a kid and the circumstances of the scene.  Notably, a Japanese anime version of The Little Mermaid.  Dubbed in Cantonese, it was regular viewing when my parents were busy working.  I was probably too young to understand the significance of it but when I was older, I watched it again and the ending (modified from the original) gutted me.

The last film I wept at was the 2012 Danish film The Royal Affair, starring Mads Mikkelsen, which I had missed at the cinema and caught later on home release.  It was the broken expression of Johan Struensee (Mikkelsen) as he is led to his avoidable fate from that got me weeping.  I only truly wept in the cinema once and it was for The Help, as the scene about Skeeter and her former maid Constantine was reminiscent of my grandmother, who had passed away only a few months before.

Nowadays, really good weepies are hard to come by as they need to have that balance of sentimentality without it being too overemotional but…I just don’t want to cry in public.  Call it self-preservation.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

